| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
CONSUMER
RESOURCES
- BestPlaces
- Provides comparative information for cities including
climate, schools, cost of living and crime rates. Includes
a salary calculator which compares cities side-by-side in
areas such as housing, food and taxes.
- Better
Business Bureau - Consumer Alerts and Online complaint
forms. Links to local Better Business Bureau offices.
- Consumer
Information Center - Full Text versions of Federal Consumer
publications. Service is provided by the Consumer Information
Center of the U.S. General Services Administration.
- Consumer
Protection - State of Wisconsin - The Wisconsin Department
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection provides information
on product alerts and recalls, common consumer complaints
(with the option to file a complaint online), food safety
issues, advice on animals and weights and measures.
- Consumer
World - Contains over 1700 links to consumer resources
on the Internet. Includes product reviews.
- Efficiency
Ratings for Heating and Water Heating Equipment (GAMA)
- The Gas Appliance Manufactureres Association updates ratings
on gas and oil heating equipment and gas, oil and electric
water heaters twice yearly. Uses PDF format which requires
Adobe Acrobat.
- Give.org
- Provides ratings and financial information for hundred
of nonprofits and notes whether they meet the standardsfor
fund raising of the Better Business Bureau.
- GuideStar
- While this site does not rate charities, potential donors
can find information on over 700,000 nonprofit organizations.
When available this includes a description of their mission,
program services, finances, accomplishments, goals, and
leadership. Information is obtained from the IRS and from
the organizations themselves.
- HMDA
(Home Mortgage Disclosure Act) - Public loan data that
can be used to assist in determining whether financial institutions
are serving the housing needs of their communities, provided
by the Federal Financial Institutions Examinations Council.
- International
Salary Calculator - Allows comparison of the cost of
living between hundreds of U.S. and international cities.
- U.S
Consumer Gateway - Provides links to official Federal
Government information consumer sites. Subjects include
food, health, product safety, your money, and transportation.
|
| |

|
|
|
|
|