LITERATURE RESOURCES

  • American Authors on the Web - Provides links to sites with information on American authors. Listing is chronological by date of author's birth.

  • American Verse Project - An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. Allows simple word searches as well as Boolean and proximity searches. You can also browse individual texts. Over 160 texts are already included with many more in progress.

  • Bartlett's Familiar Quotations - Allows a search of Bartlett's 10th Edition (1919) which was the first published after John Bartlett's death. It left much of his original work intact while supplementing it with new material.

  • Children's Literature Web Guide - Supplies links to Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. Includes sites for authors and for book awards and best books.

  • The Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection - Contains nearly 4000 critical and biographical websites about authors and their works. Sites have been selected for overall usefulness.

  • Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color - Created by the Dept. of English and Program in American Studies of the University of Minnesota. A typical entry includes a brief quotation or excerpt, a photograph of the writer, a book jacket cover, a biographical and critical essay, lists of works by and about the author and links to related web sites.

  • Index to Science Fiction Anthologies and Collections (pre 1984) - An index to over 3,400 science fiction anthologies and single author collections published before 1984 containing over 23,000 works by 3.850 authors. Includes book and story listings by title and by author, a series list and the ability to search for title words. Story titles for each author are listed both alphabetically and chronologically. Includes some fantasy and horror.

  • Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet - An annotated guide to scholarly Shakespeare resources available on the Internet. Includes other features such as a timeline.

  • Shakespeare Online - Features his complete plays, analysis, a biography, an Elizabethan glossary, tips on studying Shakespeare and much more.
 

   

Home | About Us | Adult & Youth Services | Calendar | Electronic Resources
Friends | Gardens | Work With Us | Locations