| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
TRAVEL
General
- Airport
Directory - QuickAid
- A directory of the nation's largest Airports with hotel,
parking and terminal information provided by the QuickAid
Corp.
- CDC
Travel Information - An access point for international
travel health information. Provides vaccination requirements
for visitors to foreign countries.
- Elderhostel
- Elderhostel is a non-profit organization providing high-quality,
affordable, educational adventures for adults who are 55
and older.
- Fodors
- Home page for this publisher of popular travel books.
Includes news stories of interest to travelers.
- Microsoft
Expedia - A starting point for airline fare comparisons,
bargain travel and more. Reserve airline flights from this
official Microsoft site.
- World
Time Server - Provides quick access to the current local
times across the world with listings by country and by major
city.
- Travelocity
- This Sabre Group travel site gives the latest airline
fares and cruise and vacation packages information.
- USA
CityLink - A starting point for searching for travel
information about cities and states. Links to hotels, visitor
and convention bureaus, and cultural events.
Maps
and Highways
- How
far is it? - Type in two locations to get the distance
between and latitude/longitude and elevation for both locations.
Provides links to maps and directions.
- MapQuest!
- Browse maps around the world, or use TripQuest to get
specific driving directions/distances for US locations.
- Maps
on Us - Will show a specific location on a map or draw
up a route and directions between two locations. Also has
a yellow page directory.
- TopoZone:
the Web's Topographic Map - A center for topographic
map users and outdoor recreation enthusiasts. Includes every
USGS 1:100,000, 1:63,360, 1:25,000, and 1:24,000 scale map
for the entire United States.
- Yahoo
Maps and Driving Directions - Find a map for a particular
location or detailed driving directions and a map showing
the route from one point to another. It even provides the
driving distance and approximate amount of time for the
trip.
Transportation
- Airsafe
- A clearinghouse of safety information for the airline
passenger.
- Amtrak
- Amtrak information, including schedules and fares. Local
Amtrak service is in Sturtevant.
- Metra
- Information on tickets, fares, and schedules for the train
to Chicago & Northern Illinois.
- Thirty
Thousand Feet - Airports and Airfields - Of special
interest to aviators, links are provided to a vast array
of sites pertaining to airports. Go to the home page and
you will find a huge directory of aviation web pages, newsgroups,
FAQs, news, and links to other sources of aviation information.
Geography
- CIA
World Factbook - In depth, current
data on every country in the world. Covers geography, the
people, government, economics, military, transportation
and transnational issues (such as disputes with other countries).
(Travel - Geography)
- Country
Studies Handbooks - Online versions of the books produced
by the Federal government with the focus primarily on the
lesser known regions of the world. They present a description
and analysis of the historical setting of a country and
their social, economic, and political systems.
- Country
Briefings - Economist.com - Provides information on
a large number of countries, come of which may go beyond
that available at the sites above. Includes factsheets,
political and economic forecasts, several years of economic
data and descriptions of the political and economic forces
at work.
- Geographic
Names Information Service - Developed by the USGS in
cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names, this
database contains information on almost 2 million physical
and cultural geographic features in the United States and
its territories. There are also links to a similar database
for Antarctica and gazetteers and name sources for foreign
countries.
- Getty
Thesaurus of Geographic Names - Allows search for names
across the world. Provides list of results giving a brief
description (inhabited place, lake, county, river, canal,
valley, etc) and a brief description of its location (such
as country, state and county). Clicking on a result gives
at least the latitude and longitude and sources of the information
and may give a brief history, date founded and origin of
its name.
- Map
Collection - Perry Casteneda Library - Maps scanned
from the library collection at the University of Texas at
Austin and links to many other map sites. Includes political
and relief maps for most areas, but also some hard to find
specialized maps (such as population density and land use)
for selected countries. Also some historical maps.
|
| |
|
| |

|
|
|
|
|